Four Leaf Clover – Warnemünde, Germany

In our world today there are probably as many superstitions there are four leave clovers.  People around the world seem to love superstitions and at times adjust their lives to them, to be happy or avoid tragedy.  I can tell you, very bluntly, that I am not superstitious at all.  When I was a kid I believed in many things just because I was told to, but after researching on my own I realized that most of those ideas were human made tales that were basically just not true.  I have actually shown many people that black cats running across your way, or walking under a ladder will not harm you.  It has been many years, and I am still alive.  I am not alive because I was superstitiously avoiding certain circumstances, but by the grace of God.  
 
I personally like to prove people wrong, and that superstitions are fake outs created by humans.  Its not like I’m on a rampage against the superstitious folks, but whenever I have an opportunity to show them they are believing in false truths, I’m glad to help them out 😉 
 
As a teenager I used to love running around parks with my then girlfriend, wanting to do something romantic.  I decided to find her as many four leaved clovers as I could.  Once, in the span of one hour I found around five of them! 
 
Recently visiting Warnemünde, Germany I decided to see if I could find a four leaf clover, but this time, for my wife, the next blog, and just for the sake of superstitious people everywhere.  I also gave myself a time limit for this occasion — 20 minutes.
 
I found a four leaf clover in 2 minutes! I kid you not, it was that fast.
 
Four leave clover
 
So what is the story of the four leaf clover? 
 
“Four-leaf white clover (Trifolium repens)
The four-leaf clover is an uncommon variation of the common, three-leaved clover. According to tradition, such leaves bring good luck to their finders, especially if found accidentally. In addition, each leaf is believed to represent something: the first is for faith, the second is for hope, the third is for love, and the fourth is for luck.
It has been estimated that there are approximately 10,000 three-leaf clovers for every four-leaf clover; even so, this probability has not deterred collectors who have reached records as high as 160,000 four-leaf clovers.
Clovers can have more than four leaves: The most leaves ever found on a single clover stem (Trifolium repens L.) is 56 and was discovered by Shigeo Obara of Hanamaki City, Iwate, Japan, on 10 May 2009. Five-leaf clovers are less commonly found naturally than four-leaf clovers; however, they, too, have been successfully cultivated. Some four-leaf clover collectors, particularly in Ireland, regard the five-leaf clover, known as a rose clover, as a particular prize.” — Wikipedia
 
The lucky clover originates from Ireland.  Many ancient Celtic stories tells us how evil spirits were rid with this plant.  Children carrying four leaf clovers had a better chance of seeing fairies.  Saint Patrick, who supposedly lived in the 5th century used a three leaf clover as a parable to explain the Holy Trinity – Father, Son and Holy Spirit – and the last fourth leaf was for a good luck!?
 
Due to Roman rule in centuries past, Christian feast days and times of the year were made to change and got mixed with symbols from pagan Sun worship to attract more people.  In a similar manner in Ireland, Catholic priests and bishops decided to combine pagan religions and feast days of the Celts with the remaining Christian feast days ruined by Constantine the Great.  
 
Lastly, another tale tells us that in 1620 Sir John Melton (English merchant, writer and politician) declared the four leaf clover a lucky clover and the rest is history.  One man formed an opinion, and the rest of the world followed.  
 
Basically, do your research.  Find out why you believe what you say you believe.  Superstition are man made suggestion based on irrational fears people have allowed to control themselves for years.
Leave a Reply

